Columbia’s Best Breakfast – Ernie’s Café and Steakhouse

Image

People often ask me what my opinion is on the best breakfast in Columbia. Although I haven’t tasted every single breakfast restaurant in town, I think about my favorite places in town often. It’s my goal to find out for sure, to test out everywhere. Not only breakfast restaurants, but all Columbia restaurants whether they serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, or all of the above. One thing I can say for sure though, is that, in the several years I’ve lived in Columbia, no breakfast food place has ever been better than Ernie’s Café and Steak House.

Ernie’s is a 1950’s style diner complete with a soda bar to sit at if you’re so inclined. On the walls there are pictures and comics featuring Dick Tracy, and there’s even a mural of him commenting on one of Ernie’s dishes above the kitchen – the “chopped cow” (hamburger). It’s a colorful and fun environment that doesn’t feel old or worn. It has just enough of that 50’s vibe that makes you want to get a chocolate shake on a warm day. It is a small restaurant though, seating less than 80 people at a time. But, they take advantage of warm weather by adding tables out in front of the place, too.

Image

What’s allowed me to go to and enjoy Ernie’s as much as I have in my time at Mizzou has in been the cost. Compared to every other restaurant in the area, it’s a bit less and the quality of the food doesn’t suffer. Also, Ernie’s has a reputation for having a very genuine and kind wait staff. I know most on a first name basis and each time I’ve gone in they are as attentive as they can be and are personable. They ask how you’ve been, what you’ve been up to, and what’s going on with you.

Image

The breakfast I usually get is the sampler – eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, and toast. Although certainly not winning any points for originality, Ernie’s does traditional breakfast food as deliciously as I’ve ever tasted. Nothing has ever been greasy or burnt or underdone. It always tastes wonderful and is cooked to order.

In her entire time coming with me to Ernie’s, Shannah has never strayed from her go-to order: a Belgian waffle and a side of bacon. She says that she always gets that because it’s a perfect mix of sweet and savory and I can agree. Like me, Shannah doesn’t enjoy her bacon crispy but less done and Ernie’s is good about cooking the bacon how you ask for it. Ernie’s waffles are always awesome tasting, too, without too crispy with whipped butter.

Image

In our most recent trip to Ernie’s though Shannah and I thought, why not try something off of the lunch menu? One of the first times I ever had eaten at Ernie’s I had ordered the Ernie’s cheesesteak and it was good then. But this most recent trip, I wanted to switch it up and try something I haven’t seen too often: a Philly chicken sandwich.

Image

I have to say, being a man who loves my steak, I wasn’t sure how much I was going to enjoy a Philly chicken sandwich, but I was really blown away. Each ingredient really was cooked well and they all blended together nicely to create a depth of flavor that I really enjoyed. With the chicken were grilled onions, mushrooms, and green peppers. Although I wish that something were done to the sandwich bread – the cold bread really wasn’t pleasant with the delicious hot insides.

Shannah ordered what’s called the “Twin chopped cow.” It consists of two half burgers with cheese, their own homemade BBQ sauce, pickles, tomatoes, onions, lettuce, and fries. She said it was a great tasting burger, although the BBQ sauce left a bit to be desired. I agree with her, having tried it myself I thought that the sauce tasted very good – but it was watery and didn’t stick to the burger or fries well. I did however really like how the dish was plated. It was unique and interesting.

Image

Everything about Ernie’s is excellent. The food, the prices, the service, the décor, the atmosphere, the everything. In my years here in Columbia there has not been one place that I’ve recommended more to others than Ernie’s. For both breakfast and lunch, I give Ernie’s Café and Steak House 5 out of 5 stars – it’s a must go, and a true Columbia, Missouri landmark.

If you’d like to learn more about Ernie’s, visit their website at: http://www.erniescolumbia.com/

If you’d like to connect with Erne’s visit their Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/erniescafeandsteakhouse

Leave a comment